高中部 

服务行动

 “ISS,意义深远的服务学习是本校使命理念不可或缺的组成部分。它让学生有机会在当地和全球范围内,通过与社区和个人之间的可持续性互惠关系,获得与其年龄相符的自我意识和他人意识,自我转变并改变他人。

“服务行动”之愿景 

在9年级和10年级,也就是中学课程项目的第四年和第五年,学生们会在项目前三年的基础上继续从事“服务行动”,以增强自己的体验式学习经验。学生们可以根据自己的IB学生档案,衡量自己在服务行动的调查、规划、行动和反思环节的参与度。在这个层面上,许多活动直接与课程单元挂钩,有些会跨多个学科领域,并切实关注中学课程项目的全球化背景。这些活动会对社区产生真正的影响。每年一度的“无墙周”之旅其核心就是服务行动。学生们与越南和柬埔寨的村庄、学校以及机构合作,参与解决区域性社会或环境问题。他们还参与了很多新加坡本地项目。

在11年级和12年级,IB文凭学生必须完成课程设置中的必修内容——“创造力、活动与服务”。他们可自行选择参加带有目的性和挑战性的活动,而他们选择的往往是自己感兴趣,并对其申请高校或更高目标有帮助的领域。学生们应该体现出自己的计划能力在中学课程基础上取得的进步。学生对自己其活动成果、个人发展和学习的反思在最终的毕业条件中占有很重的分量。学生们参与过的项目有:为印度尼西亚一家孤儿院建篮球场;为菲律宾儿童造船上学;与当地组织和慈善机构合作,帮助在阅读、听讲、运动或一般性活动中有障碍的儿童;与动物福利团体合作;与儿童医院以及当地为儿童或老人所建的保健中心或养老院合作;为家政工作者提供辅导;以及在学校开展项目等。

服务行动从我们自己的社区开始,向当地、区域和全球范围延伸。我们的学生曾前往世界各地,参与到他们认为能够向他人展示奉献之意义的领域,而他们在此过程中也对自己有了更多的了解。即使你以前没有参与过中学课程、文凭课程或服务行动,我们也可以引导您完成这个过程;重点在于要以有意义的方式受到启发和挑战!

High School

Service as Action

Service as Action is an integral part of the curriculum in the MYP and DP. It helps students apply what they have learnt in the classroom to real world issues in their community. The goal is to develop a sense of social responsibility as well as meet the learning objectives of the curriculum. It gives students an opportunity to act on their personal interests and make their learning more applicable in the real world.

A major focus of our service programme in the MYP is our long-term support of the Sok Sobay Orphanage in Cambodia. ISS students visit the centre on an annual basis to support their work. ISS also undertakes fundraising and friend raising in Singapore.

Our annual ‘Week Without Walls’ programme also includes a strong service as action programme.

Key Features

  • Age and developmentally appropriate
  • Respectful to the norms of the communities involved
  • Classroom learning that leads to action and addresses a community need
  • Builds on student interests, skills and talents
  • Structured time provided for students with adult mentors/guides
  • A learning and reflective experience
  • Aims to foster individual and group responsibility
  • Create links between different groups (ages, economic backgrounds, ethnicities, genders, etc.)
  • Student empowerment
  • Undertake a challenge that requires planning, commitment, and empathy
  • Acting collaboratively with classmates and adults
  • A force for change and personal growth
  • Increased awareness of their role in improving the lives of others

Service as Action

“At ISS, meaningful service-learning is integral to our mission and philosophy. It creates opportunities for age appropriate awareness and transformation of self and others through sustainable, reciprocal relationships built with communities and individuals in local and global contexts.”

Our Vision for Service as Action

In Grades 9 and 10 (Years 4 and 5 of the MYP), students will build on their work in ‘Service as Action’ from the first three years of the programme to enhance their experiences through experiential learning. Students use the IB Learner Profile as a basis on which to measure their engagement within the research, planning, action and reflection embedded in the process of Service as Action. At this level, many activities will be directly related to curriculum units, some spanning several subject areas with a focus on an MYP global context, which has real impact on a community. Our annual ‘Week Without Walls’ trips have a real focus on service as action and enable students to participate in regional social or environmental issues working with villages, schools and agencies in Vietnam and Cambodia as well as working on a multitude of local projects here in Singapore.

In Grades 11 and 12, IB Diploma students must complete Creativity, Activity and Service as a compulsory component of their curriculum. Students engage in purposeful, challenging activities that are self initiated and generally try to find an area of interest that will support their applications to Higher Education or beyond. Students should show development in their planning from an MYP level and their reflection on the outcomes of their activities and their own personal development and learning carry great weight in their final graduating requirements. Students have been involved in projects such as creating a basketball court for an orphanage in Indonesia, building boats for children to go to school in the Philippines, working with local organisations and charities for children who require support with reading, mathematics, sports or general activities, working with animal welfare groups, children’s hospitals and local health care centres or homes for children or the elderly, providing tuition for domestic workers, and running projects in school.

Service as Action starts within our own community and extends on a local, regional and global scale and our students have travelled all over the world participating in areas where they feel they can demonstrate a worthwhile commitment to others whilst learning more about themselves in the process. We can guide you in this process even if you have never done MYP, DP or service as action before; the key is to be inspired and challenged in a meaningful way!